Click to see the modal popup.

FY 2007 RFA Grant Application Information (RFA)

Application Information Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

Request for Applications (RFA) No. SM-07-010
Posting on March 23, 2007
Receipt date: May 15, 2007
Announcement Type: Initial

Catalogue of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) No
.: 93.243

Key Dates:

Application Deadline

Applications are due by May 15, 2007.

Intergovernmental Review
(E.O. 12372)

Letters from State Single Point of Contact (SPOC) are due no later than 60 days after application deadline.

Public Health System Impact Statement (PHSIS)/Single State Agency Coordination

Applicants must send the PHSIS to appropriate State and local health agencies by application deadline. Comments from Single State Agency are due no later than 60 days after application deadline.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Mental Health Servicesis accepting applications for fiscal year (FY) 2007 for Treatment and Service Adaptation Center cooperative agreements through the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative.

Treatment and Service Adaptation Centers are a category (Category II) of cooperative agreements under SAMHSA’s larger National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI). The purpose of the NCTSI is to improve treatment and services for all children and adolescents in the United States who have experienced traumatic events. The NCTSI is designed to address child trauma issues by creating a national network of grantees that work collaboratively to develop and promote effective community practices for children and adolescents exposed to a wide array of traumatic events. The NCTSI Network is composed of three types of Centers:

  1. The National Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NCCTS-Category I) works with SAMHSA to develop and maintain the Network structure, coordinate collaborative activity within the Network, oversee resource development and dissemination, and coordinate national education and training efforts;

  2. The Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA-Category II) Centers provide national expertise on specific types of traumatic events, population groups, and service systems and support the specialized adaptation of effective treatment and service approaches for communities across the country; and

  3. The Community Treatment and Services (CTS-Category III) Centers implement and evaluate effective treatment and services in community settings and youth-serving service systems and collaborate with other Network Centers on clinical issues, service approaches, policy, financing, and training issues.

Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers provide the National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative Network with access to national expertise on child traumatic stress and interventions. The TSA Centers serve as lead organizations for identifying and adapting effective treatment and services for specific types of trauma, types of trauma interventions, and/or traumatized populations. TSA Centers are expected to build reciprocal partnerships with CTS Centers that strengthen the Network, promote innovation, and increase the quality and accessibility of trauma-informed interventions and practices. TSA Centers also develop training and implementation approaches and materials for their trauma interventions so that these interventions can be disseminated throughout the country.

TSA Center cooperative agreements are authorized under Title 42. Public Health and Welfare, Chapter 6A – Public Health Service, Subchapter III09 A – Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Part G Projects for Children and Violence, 42 U.S.C. 290hh-1. This announcement addresses Healthy People 2010 focus area 18 (Mental Health and Mental Disorders).


Eligible applicants are domestic public and private nonprofit entities. For example, State and local governments, federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native tribes and tribal organizations, urban Indian organizations, public or private universities and colleges; community- and faith-based organizations; outpatient clinics, psychiatric or general hospitals; and partnerships of multiple clinical centers, programs, and or community service providers applying as a single TSA Center may apply. The statutory authority for this program prohibits grants to for-profit agencies.

Applicants may also apply for the NCTSI Community Treatment and Services (CTS) Centers cooperative agreements. If approved for funding in more than one National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative program, an award may be made in only one of the programs. NCTSI grantees whose awards are ending in FY 2007 are eligible to apply for this competitive grant award.

Award Information

Funding Mechanism:

Cooperative Agreement

Anticipated Total Available Funding: $3 million
Anticipated Number of Awards: 5
Anticipated Award Amount:

Up to $600,000

Length of Project Period: Up to 4 years

Proposed budgets cannot exceed $600,000 in total costs (direct and indirect) in any year of the proposed project. Annual continuation awards will depend on the availability of funds, grantee progress in meeting project goals and objectives, and timely submission of required data and reports.

Contact Information

For questions on program issues, contact:

Malcolm Gordon, Ph.D.
Division of Prevention, Traumatic Stress and Special Programs
Center for Mental Health Services
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
1 Choke Cherry Road
Room 6-1005
Rockville , Maryland 20857

For questions on grants management issues, contact:

Kimberly Pendleton
Office of Program Services, Division of Grants Management
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1097
Rockville, MD 20857
(240) 276-1421

Documents needed to complete a grant application:

Applications that are not submitted on the required application form will be screened out and will not be reviewed.

Download the complete Announcement No. SM-07-010

MS Word Format Download RFA in MS Word format
PDF Format Download RFA in Adobe PDF format

You must respond to the requirements in the RFA in preparing your application.

PHS 5161-1 (revised July 2000): Includes the face page, budget forms and checklist. Applications that are not submitted on the required application form will be screened out and will not be reviewed.

Additional Materials

For further information on the forms and the application process, see Useful Information for Applicants

Additional materials available on this website include:

Last updated: 12/12/2007